|Ciao Bella! Celtics Open Pre-Season with win in Milan, Italy||Drew Brees Joins Tom Brady as Members of the 400 Club||Red Sox Season Finale Sees Orsillo’s Last Call, Farrell, Lovullo Announcement||Connelly’s Top Ten: Season Over, Bye Over, Old Restaurants|
Yankees starter Michael Pineda has had a great start to the 2014 season, allowing just two earned runs over the first 18 innings this year (3 starts; 2-1 record). He was a phenom his rookie season in Seattle, and then spent two years on the shelf after his trade to the Yankees, so his fast start this year seemed a bit unnatural – but hey, maybe he is this good and will continue to dominate the American League.
Or, maybe he’s cheating.
Pineda was accused of using pine tar the first time around in a win against the Red Sox earlier this month. Umpires never saw it, and he was never disciplined.
Then, Wednesday night happened. Pineda took the mound against the Sox in Fenway, and again, he was seen with pine tar. This time, the umpires caught it and ejected him from the game, per major league rules.
Were umpires right to eject the pitcher?