(AP Photo/Gail Burton) Will The Sox Win The AL East? Connelly’s Top Ten: Brady Being Poked, Pink Hats Strike Again, Stand Up! UNITED STATES - SEPTEMBER 29:  From the book New York Exposed. Willie Mays' famous eighth inning catch going away from home plate in the first game of the 1954 World SEries between the New York Giants and the Cleveland Indians.  (Photo by Frank Hurley/NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images) Connelly’s Top Ten: Sox Managers Worse Than Farrell, Loaded 1966 All-Star Team, Brady-Belichick’s ‘Feud’ 2564856329_a79fdbbc29_z NBA Preview: 2016-2017 Boston Celtics

Sam Bradford Wins 2008 Heisman Trophy

Sam Bradford, Sophomore Oklahoma Quaterback, won the 74th Heisman Trophy and became the fifth Sooner to win the prestigious honor.  He had a phenomenal year in guiding his team to an NCAA scoring record with 702 points, including another national-record five consecutive 60-point outbursts.

He also led his team to the Big 12 South division title (winning a three-team tiebreaker) and Big 12 Championship, and with a 12-1 record, will meet Florida for the BCS National Championship.  The Gators are led by last year’s Heisman, junior quarterback quarterback Tim Tebow.  The third finalist was Colt McCoy, of Sooner rival Texas, and the junior quarterback of the only team to beat Oklahoma so far this season.

Bradford was 302-442 (68.3%), 4,464 yards (343.4 per game), with 48 touchdowns and six interceptions.  Not known for his prowess as a rusher, he scored five touchdowns on the ground among 40 carries for a modest 65 yards.  He threw for over 300 yards 11 times in 13 games and went over 400 yards in two of those contests.  He powered an offense that averaged 54 points per game on 562.1 yards per game (356.5 passing, 205.5 rushing).

The voting was very close among the top three finalists with Bradford earning 1,726 points, Tebow getting 1,604, and McCoy garnering 1,575.  Tebow led in first place votes with 309 to Bradford’s 300 and McCoy got 266, accounting for all 875 first place votes.  Texas Tech senior quarterback Graham Harrell was a distant fourth and teammate and sophomore reciever Michael Crabtree was fifth.

The vote was the closest margin between first and third since 2001.  In that season, Nebraska’s Eric Crouch beat out Rex Grossman of Florida, and Ken Dorsey of Miami, another all quarterback panel of finalists.  Tebow was trying to become only the second two-time winner and would have joined Ohio State running back Archie Griffin who won back to back in 1974 and 1975.  Bradford is also only the second sophomore winner, joining Tebow.

Tags: , , , ,


No comments for “Sam Bradford Wins 2008 Heisman Trophy”

Post a comment